Self study or coaching.

Discussion in 'India' started by naman90, Nov 28, 2013.

1. naman90

naman90 Member

Please help I am new in this field.
    I have passed ACET in June this year and looking forward to give CT 1 and CT 3
    So I need guidance that shall i do self study or join coaching institutes.

2. John Lee

John Lee ActEd Tutor Staff Member

Obviously it's very helpful to have coaching (our data shows 32% CT pass rate just with notes and 63% pass rate with our coaching).

We offer the pre-recorded online classroom for our Indian students (samples available here) for £75 which includes tutor support via a dedicated forum.

We also offer some subjects live online (a live webcast). For details see here.

3. Sanjay

Sanjay Member

I'm terribly sorry for intruding on Naman's post but when you say "63% pass rate with our coaching" do you mean regular tutorials or online tutorials? Are online classes really effective when compared to regular?
    I'm considering opting for online tutorials for CT 1( it's pretty much the only option I have :D ). Sir,I would be grateful if you could help me out with this.

Thank you.

Kind Regards,
    Sanjay

4. Oxymoron

Oxymoron Ton up Member

If you're considering acted's online coaching vs some random Indian coaching center, I'd definitely vouch for the quality of the former...and at 75 pounds, you can't go much wrong really. Plus, its by people who are qualified and are in the actuarial education industry full time.

FYI, I've personally seen a guy who's just passed CT2 (and failed CT 1 and 3 twice) advertise for ST series coaching in India at Rs.15k...

Last edited: Nov 29, 2013
  5. Sanjay

Sanjay Member

Personal coaching is definitely out, given that we don't know the credibility of the tutors.I totally agree with you on the "nothing can go wrong " part when it comes to Acted classes.Thanks a lot.It really helped.

Last edited by a moderator: Nov 29, 2013
  6. Sanjay

Sanjay Member