Working in UK?

Discussion in 'Careers' started by ijhaqqani, Jul 5, 2013.

1. ijhaqqani

ijhaqqani Member

Hi all,

I am a student actuary from Pakistan. I just wanted to ask, is it easy to get a work permit from an employer in UK if you are really suitable for some job? Like, can living outside of UK be a disadvantage? they don't easily sponsor visas, is it?

and, to non-UK actuaries working in UK, what's it like living and working in UK? I mean the economic and social conditions?

thanks

Ijlal

2. Viki2010

Viki2010 Member

I'd say the market is really slow for recruitment to work in the UK, in general, at the moment.
    Not having a UK experience on your CV is a definite disadvantage.
    Exam progress is also key and expected to be 2-3 CTs per sitting, 1 ST, 1 SA etc. - you would be competing with people from the UK who are on the UK study package and get study days and tutorials to progress fast with their exams.
    Being not a native speaker of English is a definite disadvantage.
    People from Oxford, Cambridge or Warick would always be preferred than any other non-UK educated candidates....

These are my observations. The market is very competative in the UK. I'd even say the most difficult market to get into that I've seen, I would say and especially now.

3. Calum

Calum Member

There is a fair amount of beauracracy for employers to get through. However, if you have relevant experience it may be worth it for them. Depends a lot on what you've been doing and can do.

With Solvency II slowing down a bit the market is getting a bit tighter, I'd say.

4. jm_kinuthia

jm_kinuthia Member

What is the procedure for getting employment in the UK as a foreign professional ? i.e permit, job contract, etc

5. ijhaqqani

ijhaqqani Member