Work Based Skills Log

Discussion in 'General study / exams' started by Sparky1972, Mar 5, 2008.

1. Sparky1972

Sparky1972 Member

Hi All,

Need some advice on this one.

I just receied confirmation of my acceptance as a Student of the Institute. I have query with respect to the Work Based Skills.

Presently I am an Engineer working in a non Actuarial Environment with an Electronics Multinational. I am studying to take 2 CT exams in September and I will be applying for Trainee Actuary positions from now onwards.

At present I am not in a position to start the Work Based Skills log as I am not yet employed as a Trainee Actaury.

1) Can I still apply to sit exams in September if I haven't started a Worked Based Skills log.

2) In my present situation what is the best way forward with respect to this log, I have heard that it can be deferred until I get a trainee Actuary position and does not effect or impact on me sitting the exams.

Appreciate your thoughts.

2. didster

didster Member

I think the best way to find out is to ask the Institute. I believe the email address wbs@actuaries.org.uk, but you should probably check this.

I believe there was a notice not too long ago that said exam entries would not be allowed from April 2008 exams without submission of a WBS supervisor form.

My opinion is that they should make an exception in your case.

However if you really need to, I think it may be possible to start the log in a "non-actuarial" role because some of the key skills they are looking for do not apply to actuaries alone, eg ICT, management, communication.

That being said, it may be a bit awkward (and not really worth the extra effort in my opinion) to ask your current employer to act as a supervisor.

Email the Institute and hopefully you get a response.

3. thomasb

thomasb Member

Note - I am not doing an exam this April, due to the fact that my second child is due any day now. I'll do CT3 in September instead.