Will anyone accept me?

Discussion in 'Careers' started by jonnyw, May 14, 2010.

1. jonnyw

jonnyw Member

Hi all, this is my first post :) I'm hoping for some advice.

I'm really interested in becoming an actuary, have done plenty of research into careers guides etc, and have more or less decided to "go for it".

The only issue is I contacted the profession, to see whether my existing qualifications would allow me to join, and was told they wouldn't. They suggested I could do CT1 to prove my mathematical ability, which would allow me to join.

I got an A for my maths GCSE, a D for my maths A-Level (this was around 10 years ago, and I believe is more a reflection on the effort put in, rather than my actual ability at the time). After my A-Levels I studied for a degree in Computer Science (which included a number of statistical and mathematical modules), for which I got a 2:1. More recently I studied (alongside working) towards an MSc in Advanced Computer Science, and was awarded a distinction.

Anyway the reason I've posted all the above, is because I truly believe I have the ability, for what it takes to pass the exams and become a fully qualified actuary.

On a plus note I also have a 4 years experience working in the IT industry, and so have the advantage of "real world" skills, understanding how to deal with clients, manage work loads, professionalism etc.

My plan therefore is to study, and pass CT1, to show potential employees that I am capable (and dedicated).

Do you think employees would be interested in me if I have my CT1?

My other concern is a lot of graduate schemes require 300+ UCAS points (I only have 260). Would this still be a problem even with CT1? Would perhaps smaller company take me?

Do you think if I was self studying I could apply whilst studying, or would I be better waiting until I passed CT1 first.