What mark(%) is required in an exam to pass?

Discussion in 'General study / exams' started by kidstyx, Apr 1, 2008.

1. kidstyx

kidstyx Member

What mark (%) is required in an actuarial exam to pass?

In the university where I graduated, the exemption requirement was 60% in the final exam although the external examiner could change this requirement depending on the difficulty of the exam. Therefore the pass percentage usually ranged from 57% - 63%. Is this also the case for the Institute/Faculty exams?

2. Pede

Pede Member

Sure this has been posted before somewhere. Think the institute once said, roughly:

CT 60%
    ST 50% (and CA1?)
    SA 40%

But very volatile from sitting to sitting, depending on ease of paper.

3. thomasb

thomasb Member

If the pass mark for an SA exam is so low - how come the pass rate (as in number of people passing) is also quite low?

Thomas

4. examstudent

examstudent Member

probably because the exam is hard, questions are not easy

5. Niel

Niel Member

Forget about the pass mark and aim for being in the top 30% of candidates writing.

6. mattt78

mattt78 Member

can you pass a CT exam with a 50% score?

I've just taken CT4 and CT5 and think I got about 50% and 55% in these papers, so I'm wondering if I should assume I've failed, or if I have a realistic chance of getting a pass. What do you think?

I know everyone says 60% should get you a pass, but I never took that to mean that the pass mark is usually about 60% - just that it is rarely higher than that.

I passed at CT3 paper that I'm sure I didn't score more than about 40% on, and got an FA on a CT8 paper where I think I only got about 45%, so I really don't think the pass mark on the CTs is usually as high as 60%.

Anyone else know more about this, or have any thoughts?

7. avanbuiten

avanbuiten Member

You're borderline 50/50. Because ct4 and ct5 are a bit are more difficult ct's (along with ct8) you might be ok with 50%.