Up and running

Discussion in 'General study / exams' started by kv911, Feb 25, 2014.

1. kv911

kv911 Member

Hi,

I am from Mumbai. Have discovered actuarial late in life , right now i am 31.
    Have cleared 2 exams (CT1/3 in 4 attempts). Also, Preparing for ct6 in may and ct4 in nov

I have been working in a life insurance company for past 5 years, bouncing between departments (started with financial inclusion > recruitment > Corp strategy > right now in product team)

Planning to have a family in a year or two.

Wanted feedback from exisiting members as to how tough is the road up ahead and how much effort will get me through.

And just one question, will it be worth it, even if i complete it in say, 40 years of age ?

2. Sanjay

Sanjay Member

Hey kv911,you cleared CT1 and 3? cool!:D. I'm no way qualified to answer this question, but I do remember a somewhat similar question(as you will see for yourself) posted on this forum. Here's the link

http://www.acted.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=8596

Hope this helps!

3. John Lee

John Lee ActEd Tutor Staff Member

I have to be honest - CT1 and CT3 (along with CT7 and CT2) are the easiest exams. Admittedly the IAI CT3 exam is hard - but realistically things will get a lot tougher.

The later subjects are more bookwork which may prove easier - but a long road ahead of you...

4. kv911

kv911 Member

Thanks a lot dude...:D

5. kv911

kv911 Member

Can you rank the remaining exams in level of toughness
    CT4,CT5,CT8,CT9

I am already preparing for ct6 so please count it out
    Thanks for the help

6. Oxymoron

Oxymoron Ton up Member

Such a ranking would be too futile really and would serve little purpose. One needs to go through the whole series to clear anyway.

7. kv911

kv911 Member

ok thanks

8. didster

didster Member

If I recall correctly, guidance from the Profession says that in a single sitting a well prepared student could expect to do:
    3/4 CTs
    1 CA1
    2 STs
    1 SA