training scheme?

Discussion in 'Careers' started by *Laura*, Jan 15, 2012.

1. *Laura*

*Laura* Member

Hi everyone. I've just passed CT1 as a non-member and was looking for a bit of advice regarding my next steps. Apologies if these questions seem rather silly.

Firstly, as I have no experience, I don't know yet which route I want to go down and I am wondering if I should start studying for CT2, or CT3 (I read somewhere CT3 after CT1 as there was a lot of cross over) while I find work.

Secondly, I'm a bit older than the average graduate, and also, I graduated five years ago so I don't think the graduate training scheme is necessarily the right way for me to go. Is or has anyone else been in a similar situation? Which route did you take?

Thanks, Laura

2. Calum

Calum Member

They do say the only silly question is the one you don't ask.

As far as the CT2/3 thing goes, I don't think it matters much. CT2 is an introduction to accounting, CT3 is an introduction to probability and statistics. Pick the one you know least about.

The main advantage of going down the graduate recruitment route is that it will get your CV in front of eyeballs much more quickly. There is a bit of a catch-22: employers don't look for new entrants outside the graduate entry cycle, because nobody applies outside the graduate entry cycle, because employers don't recruit outside the graduate entry cycle...

However, that said, if you get your CV in front of someone who knows a warm body is needed at the right time then you can get lucky; in order for this to work, you need to get in touch with a lot of people though! There was a post in this sub-forum a few months ago that described quite an ingenious method of finding such people from publicly available directories.

3. bystander

bystander Member

Lots of people come in as a career change - you aren't alone.