Total and marginal Utility curves

Discussion in 'CT7' started by Rupel, Oct 19, 2016.

1. Rupel

Rupel Member

Hi, I am a graduate in mathematics and this is my first attempt at learning economics. Can someone please explain the shapes of the marginal utility and total utility curve. Its on Module 4, pg 6 of CMP. I have attached it for reference. Kindly help.

Attached Files:

2. bystander

bystander Member

Does it help if you think about in the following manner? Think what utility means I'd go back to its definition.

Marginal Utility is the extra benefit (reward) you get say from putting in an extra unit of 'effort' (production). It could be the extra pleasure say of eating another chocolate from, or the extra knowledge you gain for every additional minute of study (all I'm getting at here is it isn't always financial, the concept transfers to many things). The first unit will give you the most 'reward'. Then you continue adding more and it gives you less and less addition reward til it approaches something quite small (it won't necessarily become zero; depends on the circumstance - in the eating chocolate example, if it makes you I'll, perhaps the marginal utility will be zero (or less!), but each bit of study (should) add knowledge hence has a positive impact).

Total utility is then the sum of every marginal utility.

In economics, it's usually looking at financial value I just thought giving human examples of how you personally feel utility/value may help.

3. Rupel

Rupel Member

Thank you very much Sir, I was able understand the concept well with your example.
    I have come up with my interpretation of the marginal and total utility curves as functions of income, it is as follows, kindly go through the same and do let me know the areas that need improvement.