This subject is enormous

Discussion in 'SA3' started by parnell, Nov 22, 2005.

1. parnell

parnell Member

I'm just on chapter 6 of the material - it's INCREDIBLY detailed. How on earth am I going to remember all this legislation/methods of calculating different capital requirements ?

(It's interesting tho , well sorta)

2. Ian Senator

Ian Senator ActEd Tutor Staff Member

you should see the other SA subjects!

Think yourself lucky - SA3 has the least Core Reading of all the SA subjects. There are LOADS of legislation chapters for SA2, for example.

And given how little other bookwork there is in the notes, I think SA3 students get off lightly. Of course, the exam is a different matter! ;)

Hemant Rupani likes this.
  3. shyguy

shyguy Member

How do all the SA subjects compare for core reading?

Things are getting desperate and I am starting to panic. If I do not get SA3 this time Nov/Dec2005, should I switch to SA0? As I have no proper GI experience, will no proper Healthcare experience be just as relevant? Effectively the reading for the SA3 exam is SA3 and ST3. How does this compare with the other SA and ST subjects?

4. parnell

parnell Member

What about the paper recommended as essential extra reading:
    "Risk-based capital in general insurance" - 1996 , I can only find a 1994 paper on the IOA website , can u provide a link ?

5. Ian Senator

Ian Senator ActEd Tutor Staff Member

Differences between SA subjects

Shyguy: Don't panic! It's very early days so far.

Having no GI experience is a disadvantage for SA3. However, I've known plenty of people in this situation who have passed, but it will involve more reading around the subject and perhaps talking to people in the industry to get a better idea of "what's going on".