Third year maths student needs advice

Discussion in 'Careers' started by wanderlust.xx, Jun 27, 2011.

1. wanderlust.xx

wanderlust.xx Member

Hello! :) This is my first post here and I'm glad I've found this place. I've been trying to get advice from graduates who have come out the other side for a while.

I am a maths student who is just about to enter his final year. After much deliberation, I've decided I would love to do actuary even though statistics isn't my strongest subject. I'm alright at it and got B's in my stats modules at A level... Is this a poor achievement or is actuary work nothing like the stats I'm doing now? (admittedly I got better when doing my degree)

I also have another 3 months before I go back to university. I'm not sure if I'd be able to get any actuarial work experience... Is this going to severely dampen my prospects? I'm predicted a 1st if that helps at all.

Finally, applications... Does anyone have any tips for the online applications so that I can pass through the first round? Interview shouldn't be too bad I suppose.

2. mattt78

mattt78 Member

summer activities to improve employment prospects

If you can't get any work experience over the summer, maybe you should consider studying CT1 - the next exam sitting is in the first week of October, which would suit you nicely i'd have thought.

The key concern any potential employer will have is that you are committed to an actuarial career, and understand what it entails, so anything you can do to convince them of this will be of great help and put you at an advantage in a recruitment process, in my opinion. The two best ways to do this would be either some relevant work experience, or taking (and passing) CT1. You can take CT1 without becoming a member of the institute, and it has an average pass rate of 70-80%, so its do-able.

(It's around 150-200 hours of study required i'd say, depending on your existing knowledge, speed of learning and ability).