SP8-Choice of modeling distribution for frequency

Discussion in 'SP8' started by Nishi, Nov 28, 2020.

1. Nishi

Nishi Member

Hi
    I am studying for SP8 IAI examination.

The recent IFoA course material under chapter-14-Rating using F/S and B/C approaches-Choice of distributions (Page 18) states that:

"For frequency, a negative Binomial distribution is commonly used in practice, because it allows for dependencies between claims, whereas the Poisson distribution assumes successive claims are independent of each other. "

I understand the independence condition in Poisson distribution. However I am unable to understand how does Negative Binomial distribution allow for dependencies between claims?

The old (2013) CT3 course notes start the description for Geometric Distribution by considering independent, identical Bernoulli trials. And negative Binomial is generalization of Geometric distribution. So where does the dependence part come in?

Also, the Negative Binomial distribution models number of trials or failures before kth success. How does this work when we are modeling frequency to determine premiums? For example, What will be trials or failures when I am trying to determine number of motor accident claims using NB distribution?

2. Ian Senator

Ian Senator ActEd Tutor Staff Member

I'm no stats expert, but I think we might be taking the 'dependency' issue to literally. Negative Binomial distributions are useful in that the variance can be much greater than the mean, so if there is significant uncertainty, it can be a more appropriate distribution than the Poisson distribution, which simply has mean=variance.
    Subject CS2 now covered the stats behind these distributions, but I don't think that's going to help here.
    Also worth noting that this subject is covered in a bit more detail in a 'GRIP' report (an actuarial paper on pricing published many years ago), but I think that's going beyond the syllabus.