Solvency II

Discussion in 'Careers' started by Golden_Pages, May 20, 2010.

1. Golden_Pages

Golden_Pages Member

Hi all -

I have been working in a financial reporting role for the past 2 years.

It is a role that I think I am suited to - I enjoy producing and analysing the numbers.
    Recently I was asked to be the actuarial resource on the company`s solvency II project. This role will involve ensuring Solvency II deadlines/criteria are met.

I am unsure what to do, the Solvency II role has been presented as an excellent opportunity to get exposure to senior management and gain a deeper understanding of how the company operates -however I`m quite cynical!

Is there anybody else out there involved in Solvency II projects - do you think that the skill set that will be acquired over the next two years will prove beneficial and transferable? I don`t know how this role will exist after the implementation of solvency II

I really don`t know whether to accept the new role or remain involved in financial reporting. Any advice greatly appreciated?

2. mattt78

mattt78 Member

Sii

I think its safe to say that people with SII knowledge and experience will be in high demand, especially over the next couple of years, but beyond that too.

So if its something you might enjoy, it could certainly be a good area to have experience in. And even if you don't want to touch SII again, i'd have thought the project type skills you'd develop would be quite transferrable.

If you don't like it, can you just go back and do you current job? If so, what have you got to lose?

3. Golden_Pages

Golden_Pages Member

Thanks for that Matt -

4. Cardano

Cardano Member