September 20 exam

Discussion in 'SA4' started by rave23, Dec 18, 2020.

1. rave23

rave23 Member

Hi all - sadly I failed my exam. I thought the paper was reasonable but I got 40 marks. I am still in disbelief on how poorly I have done as I thought I would have scored more highly. I studied really hard for this exam and now I am lost and confused on how to approach the exam in April.

I will be applying for counselling and also getting my marks breakdown to understand further. Saying that I have no idea how to approach the exam. Please need some help!

2. Nqpa92

Nqpa92 Member

Hi Rave

I also failed (3rd attempt) with a score of 51. My previous two attempts were low 40s. I did exam counselling on the 2nd attempt and thought I factored in the comments/areas for improvement pretty well. Don't know if it was this that caused a jump in my mark or if the exam was just slightly easier. I had actually scored myself around 60-65 as I also thought the exam was reasonable and I felt like I had given a good shot at it.

Really struggling to understand what is required in this exam, as it's the only one that has given me this much sorrow! I'll just wait for the examiner's report and have requested for the SAR.

I think I will do exam counselling once again to see what comes up this time around.

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 18, 2020
  3. rave23

rave23 Member

Hi Nqpa92

Sorry to hear that you failed and I feel your pain.

Exactly i did exam counselling for last September exam and incorporated that for the April 20 exam. I failed that by 2 marks. Saying that I know the exam was harder.

Like you I thought I got around 60+ and so I have no idea why I did so badly. You are right I have no idea what they are expecting for this exam.

4. Nqpa92

Nqpa92 Member

The April 20 exam was definitely much harder so the drop in your mark is making little sense to me too!

It would be great to hear tips from any successful resitters out there and what they did differently to pass.