SA2 without Insurance experience

Discussion in 'SA2' started by rshenoy, Nov 17, 2011.

1. rshenoy

rshenoy Member

I am done with the CTs and should be done with CA1 once this diet results are out. I am planning to go for ST2 and SA2 in the Apr 2012 exams. I have no insurance experience and was wondering how difficult would this make tackling and passing these papers, especially SA2. Any tips/ suggestions?

2. Mike Lewry

Mike Lewry Member

I would say ST2 is quite possible to study and pass with no life insurance experience. In fact there's often a pensions or GI student in my tutorials and they do OK.

However, I don't think I've ever met anyone who has passed SA2 with no life insurance experience. That's not to say it's not possible, but I think you'd be at a very distinct disadvantage.

Consider this Syllabus Objective from SA2:

Produce coherent advice and recommendations for the overall financial management of a life insurance company.
    - Analyse more complex problems in terms of actuarial, economic and financial factors to a level where appropriate analytical techniques may be used.
    - Integrate the results of such an analysis into a coherent whole.
    - Evaluate critically and interpret the results in a wider context and draw appropriate conclusions.

This sounds very difficult to do from a position of no experience.

But it would be good to hear what others think.

What is your background? Aren't any other SA subjects more suited to your experience?

3. rshenoy

rshenoy Member

I have about 10 years of experience in the banking and financial services' industry. But I am keen to shift to and make a career in LI.

4. bystander

bystander Member

Its a bold move. As you don;t have the life background perhaps you could juggle your sittings?

Do 2STs together (1 being ST2) and see how you feel about the basic life one before committing to SA2. It just may take longer for the ST2 to sink in and you may find yourself short of time to study SA2,