Pre-Actuarial Qualifications

Discussion in 'Careers' started by scouseben, Jun 27, 2007.

1. scouseben

scouseben Member

Hi folks,

I'm a new actuarial student and currently trying to work out the best way to get on a good graduate/trainee scheme with one of the larger companies.

Unfortunately, although I have a 2.1 BSc Physics, my A levels weren't that great and I only have 260 UCAS points (C in Maths). It seems that most companies require 300+ UCAS points with an A or B in Maths at A level. Does my degree (which included modules in maths and statistics way above A level standard) "over-rule" the not great A levels?

Also, I am currently independently studying for CT1 and possibly CT3. Would passing these be sufficient to demonstrate my mathematical ability? Alternatively, how about sitting a maths A level again in the hope of a higher grade?

Further to the above questions, does anyone have any other ideas?

Thanks in advance :)

2. bystander

bystander Member

Good for you for persevering!!

Doing the exams independently and being successful is your best bet. You've got into the Institute so don't waste time redoing an A-level.

Why are you so fixed on certain 'big' companies? Just get in with someone and maybe with time you can move if you do well at work and in the exams.

By the sound of things, someone is missing out on someone with the right attitude. Exams aren't everything - though some companies would disagree.

All the best!

3. examstudent

examstudent Member

do CT1/CT3, you'll get used to the gruelling actuarial exams,,

if you really need to boost the a level maths at a later date, you can always do that after CT1/CT3, when you'll find a level maths as easy as tying your shoelace( especially as a level has been dumbed down in the last couple of years!)

4. jeaneu

jeaneu Member

If you haven't already, it may be worth checking whether the maths and stats modules in your degree qualifies you from any exemptions from the institute...

5. scouseben