Pillar 2

Discussion in 'SA2' started by SA2 Student, Apr 22, 2010.

1. SA2 Student

SA2 Student Member

Hi,

I thought I had this sorted in my mind but think I've confused myself!!!

Under Pillar 1 I would view the total capital required as a combination of:

1. Liabilities (math reserves (peak 1)/realistic liabs (peak 2))
    2. A solvency margin

The assets to cover 1 I would classify as policyholer assets while the assets used to cover 2 I would classify as shareholder.

Is the capital required from the ICA/ICG meant to be the sum of these??

Thanks

2. ram2410

ram2410 Member

I'm not an expert at this, but this is how I understand it;

Liabilities: Peak 1 Math Res

Regulatory required capital (Pillar 1/Pillar 2): Max of CRR and ICG. This represents how much capital on top of your liabilities a company will need to hold to meet FSA/INSPRU requirements.

Trust this helps.

3. Student2010

Student2010 Member

Hi,

I am also unsure where Pillar 2 slotted in - was it in addition to Pillar 1 or was the regulatory capital requirement the maximum of the two?

In particular, when calculating EV how is this then split between free surplus and required capital? My thinking is:

Assets equal to math reserves are used to calc PVIF
    Assets that are in excess of regulatory capital are Free Surplus (not needed for Pillar 1 or 2)
    And so remaining assets are Required Capital? i.e. ones that are needed to cover ICA + LTICR/RCR/RCM

If anyone can straighten this out that would be great -
    Is pillar one added to pillar 2?
    How does this feed into EV calcs?

Thanks a lot

4. ram2410

ram2410 Member

I still think the required capital is the max of CRR and ICG. If your required capital is the addition of CRR and ICG, you probably be double counting capital required to withstand stress test (i.e. RCR / RCM with some ICA stress/scenario tests)? Any tutor out there can confirm/invalidate this?