overqualified?

Discussion in 'India' started by salj67, Mar 2, 2016.

1. salj67

salj67 Member

So today i just heard from someone that if i clear more than 6-7 papers before graduation i wont get a good job.. as in someone who has cleared 3-4 papers and some one with 6-7 and both with zero work experience will start of on the same level with the same salary and the one with 3-4 papers cleared will get an increment for every paper he clears.. so basically he will end up having a benefit over the one with 6-7 papers... There is not much opportunity to work before graduation. So will i be considered over qualified at the entry level? Also how many papers should one clear before graduation to have a good job prospect?

2. Marzipan

Marzipan Member

I studied in the UK and got several exemptions. I still got lots of interviews and a good job. The starting salary was the same as for a student with no exemptions, but once I had applied with the Institution for the exemptions I did get a substantial pay rise. However, I didn't get the full pay rise that I would have got had I passed the exams directly with the Institute - apparently I will get the full benefit of this when I qualify. The reason is, I believe, that employers value experience much more than they do the exams. It isn't fair that a student with only 3 months experience and 6 exemptions is paid the same as someone with 2 years experience who has passed 6 exams.