Is it possible

Discussion in 'Careers' started by vathapi, Feb 26, 2009.

1. vathapi

vathapi Member

I am giving my first exam in May 2009. I am a Math graduate.
    Minimum how many papers do we have to finish - so as to apply for a job.
    Does age matter ? I am 38 yr now?
    Is it very late to start the course ?
    Also I would like to know whether I can finish few papers and start working?

2. geoff97531

geoff97531 Member

In my limited experience you would be best to get two or three CT's under your belt before approaching an employer at age 38. They'l take on a graduate with no experience but I would be surprised to see one invest the same amount of money in someone who will not be able to serve them for as long. Go for CT1 (easiest - financial maths) and CT3 (stats) and if you want another CT2 is accounting and CT7 is economics; both 'reasonably' interesting with CT7 being a little bigger but the less less boring of the two in my humble opinion! Good luck, it's a long old process to qualify but if you want to do it there's no reason to let age be a barrier.

3. Zebedee

Zebedee Member

In the UK the age discrimination act prevents employers (openly) discriminating in the way Geoff describes. I know (well) two companies that have taken on graduates in their 30s in the recent past who had no exam passes or exemptions. If you meet the profession's entry requirements (sounds like you do), are prepared to commit to passing the exams, and are prepared to start on just a graduate salary then you should apply now for Sept 09 intakes rather than fund yourself through the early exams.

Be prepared for subtle questions at interview about your personal life etc. Employers may doubt your ability to pass the exams if you have or will soon have young children competing for your attention. Practice how you will handle these questions (the answers to which are none of their business).

4. didster

didster Member

Good point.