Future of Pension Actuaries?

Discussion in 'Careers' started by deven, Feb 7, 2006.

1. deven

deven Member

Hello all,
    I am an actuarial graduate from a UK university currently holding an offer form a top-tier consulting firm to be part of their retirement benefits team. Although I always believed my skill sets were ideally suited for a consulting environment and that my career would naturally progress in this direction, I now have a slight doubt about the future of Pension Actuaries worldwide.

Being an American, I have kept a close watch of pensions in North America, and after a lot of reading I summarize the market in America for Pension actuaries as very bleak. Primarily because the number of defined benefit pension plans (primary area of actuarial work in pensions) in the US has been on the decline for many years. The steel companies have all terminated their pension plans. The airlines are shedding their plans and there are worries that automakers and suppliers may terminate their plans too. The icing on the cake is that a number of large healthy employers (Verizon and IBM are two of the latest) are either closing their plans to new employees or freezing participants' benefits. According to a Watson Wyatt study, 11% of Fortune 1,000 companies with DB plans had frozen or terminated their plans in 2004, up from 7% in 2003. The trend reflects in large part the financial market swings that left many plans severely underfunded, wreaking havoc on corporate bottom lines.

Everything said about America, my primary concern is the European market, I have read that the outlook in UK is very positive for the next few years due to
    1. Change to IFRS accounting
    2. Multi-employer rules
    3. Scheme Funding
    4. A-day
    5. The Pension Regulator

It would be extremely helpful if someone could elaborate more on the above or provide more insight on the UK market.