Food prices, oil prices - and the credit crunch?

Discussion in 'Off-topic' started by YetAnotherStudent, Apr 11, 2008.

1. So, here's a new thread to discuss the rising food prices, and the link (if any...) to the current credit crunch.

Carried over from the now infamous " Anyone know a lender that considers salary growth potential & other factors" thread.

2. Cardano

Cardano Member

Yetanotherstudent - I'll put up a considered reply when I get time. Don't hold your breath though it may be a couple of weeks

3. Cardano

Cardano Member

Continued apologies for not replying, but this is my busy time of year. I am constrained by my teaching commitments until June, when I shall be writing a longish unconventional, possibly hyperbolic piece on this

4. Cardano

Cardano Member

This is not a subject I am an expert in but I'll give it a go

There are long cycles in the commodity markets, partly due to the effect of business cycles and partly due to the cycle of investment in infrastructure.

The first real experience I can remember, where the rapid change in the price of commodities affected my life was in 1974 during the three day week. I was at junior school at the time. The rapid rise in oil prices after the Yom Kippur war of Autumn 1973, had brought about a recession in the industrialised economies and lax lending during the Barber boom had brought about a credit crunch. It should be added here that the extent of lax lending and the credit expansion at this period were miniscule compared to the credit expansion and dire lending standards that extended over the period 1982-2007. The culmination of this crisis was the “3 day week” when there was electricity rationing.