Flexible hours in actuarial roles?

Discussion in 'Careers' started by Milly, Oct 6, 2020.

1. Milly

Milly Member

I’m only a year into my graduate scheme but I was wondering if there are any actuaries out there that have some flexibility with their hours? Right now my job is 9:30-5:30 but I find what that means is people start a lot earlier and finish a lot later as standard. I have friends in other fields who can adjust their hours to like 8-4 or do a few extra hours one day to leave early another but I haven’t come across that at all in insurance. As much as I like my job I wish I had more time for myself, as with studying and working combined it does eat up your life and it would be great to have a job where I could work extra hours Mon-Thurs and leave early on a Friday.

2. Roy672

Roy672 Member

My job lets me start as late as 10 and finish as early as 4 as long as I work a minimum of 37.5 hours per week. In reality, we're usually so busy that it's difficult to finish at 4 and most people work well over their minimum hours. We do have a flexible holiday policy though so if we work through a really busy period and we've recorded a lot more hours than we're paid for then we can take additional holiday leave. I think it's always going to be a busy job as long as you're doing exams too. I usually study on my holiday leave anyway so you basically find that you're never not working in some way. I think that's just what has to be done though to qualify quickly. I know some people do move to a 4 day week once they have a few years post qualification and that's definitely something to consider. I think we've earned it if you get through these exams!

Milly likes this.
  3. Milly

Milly Member

Yeah I have studied on annual leave before, which is another reason why I wish I could be more flexible with my hours. Your situation sounds quite good.

4. James789

James789 Member