Exam help?

Discussion in 'CT2' started by Miss Chatterbox, Jan 31, 2007.

1. Hi. I'm pretty new to these exams and just have a couple of questions regarding the wordy questions.

1) If a question is worth 4 marks for example, do you ssume you need to make 4 points or 8 (since quite a few of the points are only worth 1/2 a mark each)?

2) If a particular point that you make is perfectly relevent but doesn't appear on the actual solutions, would you get any marks?

Any help would be great. Thanks

2. King

King Member

2 distinct points to a mark seems to be a rule-of-thumb.

Yeah, if your answer is relevant and follows from the question it would attract credit, but be careful not to miss out on the obvious points.

3. Monkey_Mike

Monkey_Mike Member

Hiya,

I did CT2 last sitting...

With the short questions, I just wrote as much as I could about the question, If i knew more than 4 points, id write them, usually mark schemes will have 6 or 7 points of which any 4 will get marks... as well as any other relevant points raised... just show you understand what its asking..

for example, explain what is meant by an associate company...

A plc, is an associate of H plc, if Hplc has a significant control over Aplc, this can be through either approx 25% of the shares, or having around 1/3 of members on the board of directors of A. If H holds more than 50% of the shares, or 2/3rds of board memebers Aplc would be known as a subsiduary. A holding of around 10% or less, Aplc would be known as a minority interest of Hplc

something along those lines... so saying what would make it NOT an associate company, would show you understand... im not 100% sure if my answer above is "technically" correct, so no picking holes you people... its been a few months since i passed CT2, and ive slept since then!!

4. bystander

bystander Member

I'd caution against writing all you know. Seems to me the suggestion above goes way beyond the question.