Enquiry on Work Experience

Discussion in 'Careers' started by Ryan, Mar 30, 2006.

1. Ryan

Ryan Member

For an introduction, I'm currently a student studying full time at home. A few days ago,I read through several topics in this forum, and I remember vaguely that some one mentioned about the case where one passed all required papers, but was still not able to tranfer to a fellowship class. I have concerns as my plan is to finish all required papers in roughly 2 years time before I start working.

So my question is,
    Must I have some work experience when I finish all the required papers in order to be able to attain the fellowship? ( all CT & CA + 2 x ST + 1 x SA) :cool:

Any suggestions/comments are most welcome. Thank you all in advance.

2. Gareth

Gareth Member

wow, i wish i had the opportunity to do the exams full time at home!

well with IOA you need 2 yrs work experience to be an actuary. So i guess you will need to get a job as a trainee when you finish, and after 2 yrs you will be able to call yourself an actuary. besides, with no work experience you will not be able to work as an actuary, so it's probably for the best!

alternatively, if you join the faculty of actuaries, the work experience is not a requirement, so you can be an actuary straight away...whether anyone will employ you as an "actuary" is another matter altogether.

3. Cardano

Cardano Member

I joined the Faculty for that very reason

4. avanbuiten

avanbuiten Member

Who will employ you?

Passing all the exams without any actuarial work experience is likely to make you unemployable.

5. Ryan

Ryan Member

Well first let me thank those ppl who bothered enough to leave me something. =)

I'm not expecting to be employed as an actuary straight away. I merely hope that having done the required papers it could help me get promoted faster, along the 2-3 years of my work as a trainee/junior executive I could get a CFA or something.