Degrees considered relevant for Actuaries

Discussion in 'Careers' started by Dacota, Sep 18, 2012.

1. Dacota

Dacota Member

I am planning to migrate to Australia and as part of the migration process I have to get my skills and education assessed.

Australia's skills assessment authority (VETASSESS) have assessed my qualification and claim that my education (degree) is not relevant to the actuarial field.

I have got a bachelors degree in "Mathematics and Applied Computing" and I have also completed 5CT papers plus three years experience as an Actuarial Analyst.

I am so disappointed that VETASSESS considers "Mathematics and Applied Computing" not a relevant degree for Actuarial. In my opinion I believe that my degree is highly relevant to pursue a Actuarial Career.

Can anyone suggest any ideas to prove VETASSESS that this degree is relevant, because I have the option to appeal their decision, but I would like to provide more evidence to show that this degree is relevant, highly relevant for an Actuarial Career.

Any help or suggestions will be much appreciated.

Thanks

2. bystander

bystander Member

Did you get an exemptions from the CT exemptions from your degree? Even if you didn't apply for them you could consider asking the Profession if you would have got any had you applied.

It does seem harsh as many people come into the actuarial field with maths degree and you do have relevant experience.

Maybe the issue for them is really that they are short of qualified actuaries and but they have enough at your level.

Were there other rejection reaons?

A different attack could be to get hold of adverts for people at your level.

The only other thing is can you get a perm role down there and prove you are needed. It may be you need this ebtry check to apply.

3. Dacota

Dacota Member

Thanks for your thoughts bystander.
    I think I am eligible for a couple of exemptions, however I did not apply for exemptions.