Curriculum 2019 Exams

Discussion in 'General study / exams' started by MrJWright_, Aug 2, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MrJWright_

MrJWright_ Member

Hello,

I am new to the actuarial profession and will soon commence sitting the actuarial exams under Curriculum 2019.
    I was wondering whether anyone had any idea as to which order they will be sitting the exams?

Coming from a mathematical and statistical background, I thought possibly sitting the Actuarial Statistics and Actuarial Mathematics exams first may be more logical.

Does anyone have any advice?

Thank you.

2. Darrell Chainey

Darrell Chainey ActEd Tutor Staff Member

There are lots of choices and it will depend on how much study you want to commit to each sitting.
    In the current system, lots of sponsored students take 2 CT subjects in their first sitting and a fair proportion take 3.

With exams merging, then next year I suspect lots will end up starting with the equivalent of 2.5 old CT subjects.

So, for example, one route over the first four sittings might be:

CM1 and CB1 - winter (UK)
    CS1 - summer
    CS2 and CB2 - winter
    CM2 - summer

CM1 and CS2 are both pretty big courses, and so arguably the winter sessions above are equivalent to more than 2.5 CTs.

We think that doing CM1 and CS1 in the first session would be tough going (but possible). It would be easier if you had some experience with R.

Interested to hear other views.

3. Infinity

Infinity Member

My post has been deleted. Mr Chainey, you are managing director of Acted and well aware that my post was deleted. Why invite comments if you are just going to have them deleted?

What sort of organisation does this? What example are you setting to new student embarking on these worthless exams?