Cost of taking CT exams

Discussion in 'Careers' started by Engine, Jul 20, 2008.

1. Engine

Engine Member

Hello,

I'm an engineer who wants to become an actuary. My plan is to get one of the CT exams (either CT1 or CT3) under my belt before applying for a position at an actuarial firm.

Here's my problem: As I'm going to take the exams independently, I'd like to minimise the cost of studying for and taking the exams. As I understand it, for the combined materials pack (£120) and an exam (£175), is about £300 altogether.

I suppose the exam cost is pretty much fixed, but is there any way to reduce the cost of preparing for the exam without reducing your chances of passing?

Any advice or tips would be much appreciated.

2. Cardano

Cardano Member

I have heard of one person joining the Indian Actuarial Society, which makes it much cheaper to take exams, but there will presumably be exemption fees in transferring them.

The reality is the exam/CMP costs are nothing compared with the time you will have to put in, so I would bite the bullet and pay. When you have passed a few you'll be able to get a job which pays for the training

The indian exams are sat in Wembley I believe, so you don't have to travel to Bombay. Its still a bit inconvenient if you live in Belfast

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 20, 2008
  3. Engine

Engine Member

Thanks Cardano. Had a quick look and the exam fees are a lot cheaper for the Indian Institute, about £10 for each CT. However, as you say, exemption fees will probably apply and these are £144 per subject.

From the point of view of preparing for the exam; what study material is necessary? Does the CMP contain everything that is needed to pass the respective exam?

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 21, 2008
  4. RyuVI

RyuVI Member