changing career from teaching..

Discussion in 'Careers' started by barabash, Jul 2, 2014.

1. barabash

barabash Member

Hi,

I am a maths teacher thinking of changing career to an actuarial profession..
    Just wonder if anybody else on this forum or anybody you know did that?
    How difficult would it be in terms of finding an entry job position without having a financial background?
    How many exams do you reckon needed to have a chance of getting a job?
    I am based in London.

Any advice will be appreciated.
    Thank you.

2. ngongtiti

ngongtiti Member

Hi,

I changed from engineering to Actuarial 18 months ago. what I did was do one CT exams, just to prove to employers I am capable of passing the exams, and I got an offer after like 4-5 interviews.

are you an A-levels maths teacher? if yes...I think you'll be fine.

My advice will be to show prospective employers that ur serious by trying out CT1 or CT3 (statistics), before applying for jobs.

there are plenty of teachers who have done same.

3. barabash

barabash Member

Thank you, ngongtiti!
    Yes, I'm teaching A level in a sixth form college..
    Just started studying for CT1..

4. Schuey

Schuey Member

Hi which branch of engineering did u used to work in ? What made you go from engineering to actuary ?

Thanks very much

5. old.student

old.student Member

Hi

I moved from IT to Actuarial and did the PDip at Kent. I knew at least two maths teachers on that course, one of them was top of the year.

It is entirely possible and has been done. I recommend doing a conversion course if you can rather than studying on your own.

On the job front, Not an issue. I moved to GI consultancy with a 2.2 after the PDip in the height of the GFC. I think things may be easier on the job front now.

6. bystander

bystander Member