Career Changer - Non Financial Background

Discussion in 'Careers' started by aarondeep, Mar 26, 2014.

1. aarondeep

aarondeep Member

Hello,

I have seen other threads related to the career change subject, so please excuse me for posting another one. Its just I would find it most useful if I could have answers that relate to my own circumstances.

I'm 27 years old and I've already gathered its not too late to move over into Actuary. However, a couple of other points to add about myself:

- At university I did business and management, and did not take finance/economics etc. I only have a Maths Statistics A Level
    - I have also never worked in the financial sector. I work as a Merchandiser for a Retail Company. I do believe my job has strong transferable skills, however

I'm studying for CT1 at the moment. After the exam I will start looking for graduate jobs and will also start studying for further CT exams.

Will it be too early to apply for jobs with just a CT1 with only a Maths A-Level and no financial background? I'm guessing yes?

In the meantime should I be looking to get a job in the financial sector right away to boost my chances? Or alternatively would it be ok to stay in merchandising and study for further exams in my spare time?

Many Thanks in advance for your help

Aaron

2. Calum

Calum Member

I would say there is limited upside to passing a lot of exams on your own, and it gets expensive fast (study material + exams + membership = £££).

Given your maths background is relatively limited, it may be worth looking into going down the Masters route. Obviously that puts you out of work for a year or two so may not suit your circumstances.

If that's not an option then I'd be inclined to agree that trying to move into the financial sector may be a usefull addition to the CV.

And also, you may as well apply to every graduate scheme going. The worst they can say is no!

3. mpyan1

mpyan1 Member