Career change: Expertise from gurus needed

Discussion in 'Careers' started by doublegun, Aug 29, 2006.

1. doublegun

doublegun Member

Hi there,

First of all I must say, this forum is excellent. Now coming to my query:

I am an IT professional with 6 years of experience out of which 3 years I have been working for a reinsurance company. Recently (6 months back) I managed to change my department to the business side (as IT for me was a bit dry) where I came to know about being an actuary. I was surprised to know that such kind of thing exists. I am too much interested in this profession but I have some doubts for which I need your expertise:

1) Being 30 years of age and married, do you think it is manageable from time (study) point of view?

2) I did Maths for 4 semesters in my engineering career that was 10 years back. what level is needed to be an actuary. Do I go in for FAC (Foundation Acted course) and stats pack? Does it cover everything?

3) Say in 5 years at age of 35 I am done being an actuary. What Salary can I expect in UK / Europe. Can I leverage on my 6 years of IT experience and say 6 years of business experience that I would be gaining while I am giving exams? Good thing is I am already in an insurance sector so I can leverage on this and do not have to search for a new employer in this field.

4) Do I need to be first registered with the institute of actuaries to buy matieral from Acted?

5) If you complete CMP for each subject thoroughly can you pass or you need anyother textbooks.

6) How much on an average study time is required. How many exams are advised to be given at one time?

7) After qualifiying as an actuary say at age of 35 , can you reach a senior level position at age of 40?

Thanks
    DG

2. avanbuiten

avanbuiten Member

Hello,

(1) Yes it is manageable as long as you are well organised and your family is supportive.