Career Change, Engineer to Actuary

Discussion in 'Careers' started by Sparky1972, Feb 11, 2008.

1. Sparky1972

Sparky1972 Member

Hi All,
    Looking for some advise on Career Change.

I am a degree qualified Electronic Engineer having graduated in 1994. I have worked in numerous Engineering roles and Industry types since qualifying. I am 35yrs old.

At the moment I am contemplating a total career change, and for years the subject of Actuary as a career has always interested me. I personally think that I would be very suited to this type of Career and I have a very strong background in Maths both from second level and University education.

Having 100% decided to make this change, I am at the stage of gathering the options available to me to break into the career and also assesing the risk associated with the change. I have some questions which hopefully you can give me opinion/advice on.

1) The first factor to be questioned is in terms of my age (35), and making the proposed change. What is your opinion of the age and coming from a different career background, would it be be much more difficult for me in gaining a Trainee position. Feedback from the academic side I have received so far is that age and background is not an issue.

2) As I see it I have 2 options to break into career;
    Option 1 is to apply to the institute and start working through the CT exams and start applying for Trainee positions after completing the first 2 exams.
    Option 2 is to complete postgrad in Actuarial Science.

For me option 1 is less risky as I can continue to work while studying for CT exams.
    What is your opinion on the best route for me.
    If I go with studying for CT exams by myself what are my recruitment prospects for Trainee positions after being successful in the first 2 exams.

I look forward to the feedback.

2. RachelH

RachelH Member

Hi Sparky, a few ideas for you: