career advice please

Discussion in 'Careers' started by gradesina, Oct 16, 2007.

1. gradesina

gradesina Member

Hi
    Firstly i would like to say hi and introduce myself a bit.
    I have recently finished my part time (evening study) BSc in Maths & Stats and have been thinking about becoming an actuary for quite some time. the problem is, that this will be a career change and I am a mature student (I'm 32 :eek: ). I have been working in (boring) Admin (including a bit of Accounting) for 5 years now. Are there any career changers out there? do you think that it is too late to start with the exams? I have read that in order to get a job in an actuarial company it helps if I did a couple of exams myself to show commitment. Do you think that this would be a good idea? My alternative was going into Accounting and starting an Accountancy qualification. do you think that this would be "easier"?
    I would really appreciate any thoughts or ideas. This is a great forum by the way!

2. examstudent

examstudent Member

Hi

you ll get lots of different views from us on here..

Dont even consider age when making your decion. . (in addition, i cannot see how the actuarial employers could justify discriminating on age, given the projected longevity improvements which they keep producing!)

most important thing is you did a maths and stats degree and clearly enjoyed it. accountancy wont develop your maths skills, the first part of the actuarial exams (Ct series) will. However, the later exams (CA, ST SA) are more more verbal, focussing on risk, capital, return issues in insurance,pensions and investment.
    Plus im sure you know actuarial work is more highly paid etc...

Actuarial education has changed in recent years. The professional exams arent the only route, you can get exempted from most of the exams via university courses (part time or full time - see