Can I do this?

Discussion in 'Careers' started by AllanB, Apr 29, 2009.

1. AllanB

AllanB Member

I'm really eager to make a switch to the actuarial profession (preferably in the investments sector). I've looked through some text books, talked to some actuaries & I really love the work involved. It all looks very stimulating and quite rewarding.

The good (possibly):

MSc in Finance (1st class pass - Uni. of Strathclyde)
    ACCA Qualification (4 fails out of 14 attempts)
    Bachelor of Commerce in Statistics (3rd class pass - University of Cape Town)

The bad:

1. No work experience (nothing. zilch. :( )
    2. I'm a recent international graduate student so I'd need a Work Permit
    3. I'm not eligible for any exemptions (apart from ST0) and I'm still studying for my 1st sitting (CT1,2 & 3)
    4. 26yrs old...still young but not exactly that 'fresh'.

So can I do it? What really concerns me is my inconsistent academic record & the fact that I'm a foreigner.

Thanks for reading :)

2. Meldemon

Meldemon Member

Good move gathering information before making the decision to go into actuarial - starting from scratch you're probably looking at 4-6 years to complete the exams (barring any major hitches). The work only really becomes rewarding towards the end of the exams / after you've qualified, with the first 3 years spent running models etc.

I don't think the investment sector is hiring at the moment - I spoke to a recruitment agent a week ago who had mostly insurance financial reporting type rolls on the books. Sign of the times and loads of jobless investment bankers to compete against! The consultancies are also very quiet at the moment as they generally struggle to get sign off to take on new hires.