Associateship

Discussion in 'CA3' started by jashworth, May 7, 2010.

1. jashworth

jashworth Member

Hello everyone,

I am a rather mature actuarial student. My company want me to take the CA3 exam because I will then be able to qualify as an AIA. I realise that the CA3 exam is based on the CT subjects. Unfortunately I sat these subjects in the late 80s early 90s and need to refresh my knowledge. The only study materials I still have are a couple of dusty old textbooks.

I thought I could just buy the CT core reading but the Institute are charging £44 per subject.

I did take a year out a few years ago to take the City University Diploma in Actuarial Management and gained an exemption from CA1 hence being just short of CA3 to qualify.

My question is - how on earth am I to study for CA3 when I have forgotten nearly everything and the study materials are so expensive?

Any ideas?

Last edited by a moderator: May 7, 2010
  2. Pede

Pede Member

You realise wrong! The CA3 exam is dead, there's only a 2-day course now, which covers material in CA1, not the CTs.

3. didster

didster Member

Yes it's supposed to be based on CA1 material, but this is in turn based on the CT's.

I wouldn't worry about it too much. CA3 is an exam in communication. If you were comfortable enough with the actuarial basics from the CT's to do your course, you should be ok.

Have you already done or are exempt from CA2? That may possibly require some of the nitty gritty from the CTs but then again it's more or less the basics.

4. jashworth

jashworth Member

Thanks for your advice. I think I am exempt from CA2. I looked into this a year or so ago and I got confirmation from the Institute that I only need CA3 to get AIA. It seems worth doing but I don't think my boss understands just how much preparation and re-learning I will have to do to stand a chance with CA3. Thanks again.

5. mattt78

mattt78 Member

Ca3