April 2009

Discussion in 'CT6' started by actuaryre, Apr 28, 2009.

1. actuaryre

actuaryre Member

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 25, 2013
  2. CannonRee

CannonRee Member

A lot of bookwork questions, and nothing seemed particularly complicated. I mucked up a few of them but wasn't expecting to do very well anyway.

3. Demolition

Demolition Member

I don't recall there being more than 100 marks available - but i have to admit that i didn't count!

4. Hamilton

Hamilton Member

Grand

it was ok i felt

Last edited by a moderator: May 1, 2009
  5. steph

steph Member

hmmm....

Is it just me who found that paper impossible?!? I thought that was by far the the hardest CT6 paper over the last few years! I studied really really hard for that exam and was very confident going in. I got over 80% in my mocks (Apr 08 & Sept 08) but found that exam impossible! Please tell me I'm not the only one??

:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

6. Aussie K

Aussie K Member

Overall I found the paper to be OK.

I was stumped by the minimax question though - None of the options seemed to be dominated?

Was annoyed I couldn't get the Gamma as an Exponential question out under exam pressure ><

Time Series - took a stab but not really confident there.

Rest of the paper was quite decent I thought.

I wonder what kind of raw mark you would need to pass this subject?

7. Hamilton

Hamilton Member

emmm

think no one dominated in the minimax question

Last edited by a moderator: May 1, 2009
  8. Here's my notes on the questions and how the marks were divided up:

1. Liability insurance - principle characteristic & 4 distinct types [4]
    2.Gamma GLM - natural parameter and scale parameter [3], canonincal link [1]
    3.Bayes - Beta posterior for theta - 3 policies, 9 claims [2], derive estimator under all or nothing loss [4]
    4. Decision theory - complete table [5], any dominated? [2], minimax [1]. i thought no insurance at all was dominated by proportional insurance