April 13 exams

Discussion in 'General study / exams' started by Tele76, Dec 17, 2012.

1. Tele76

Tele76 Member

I’m studying CT4 and CT7 for the April 13 exams. CT7 is proving relatively easy, but I’m struggling a bit with CT4. I was thinking of putting CT4 on the back burner ‘til September and doing CT5 instead.

CT5 looks easier. Would that be a fair assumption?

I’ve done the first quarter of the CT4 notes, but floundered on part one of the q and a bank. Does this subject get easier once you’ve mastered the fundamental concepts? Are there any other books that might help (Stochastic Processes for the slow learner?).

2. tiger

tiger Member

I would say they are roughly on a par.
    Also, I would add that question practice is essential for CT5.
    It's not enough to know how to answer the question, you need to be efficient at calculating the numbers.
    CT5 was the only CT I had time pressure in. (i.e. was not able to complete the paper in the time alloted)

3. Turtlelord

Turtlelord Member

I would say CT5 is easier than CT4. However CT5 is the most time pressure exam (ie you will be running out of time to complete the exam)

CT5 requires a LOT of practice.

CT4 is difficult to understand and there is a breath of questions which can be asked.

Personally, I think there is time to do either from scratch now (ie from January) but this will depend on how much time you are willing to put in.

For reference my CT ranking (which many colleagues have concurred with) is:

hardest
    CT8
    CT4
    CT6
    CT5
    CT3
    CT1
    CT2
    CT7
    easiest

4. Tele76

Tele76 Member

Thanks for the replies!

Looking at the past papers, CT5 looked a bit more friendly than CT4. Probably because I haven’t studied stochastic processes before.

Perhaps, I'll go ahead and get the CMP for CT5, I will have to do both of 'em next year anyway.