Apprenticeships?

Discussion in 'Careers' started by lobanks, May 16, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lobanks

lobanks Member

Hi all,

Could someone tell me please whether there are any apprenticeships which result in becoming a fully qualified actuary? I am a mature student who would prefer to work while studying, rather than studying a full-time degree. I've read about an apprenticeship where you study to become a CAA, but this wouldn't include the exams (?).

What alternative routes are there for someone who doesn't want to study a full-time actuarial science/maths/ degree?

Also - I am a self-taught coder (Python) and wondered whether this was a desirable skill within this field?

Thank you in advance :)

2. bystander

bystander Member

From what you say here it is hard to advise you. Do you have a degree already? That is helpful coming into the profession. If not then you must at least meet the min entry requirements. It isn't the main route of qualifying but you could consider starting can via an apprenticeship and then make the move and switch into a more conventional trainee scheme. Consider doing one exam under your own steam - this proves commitment to employers as its competitive. Coding ability is helpful though not a prerequisite as most jobs include training in a language or actuarial software. When applying emphasise transferable skills you have demonstrated to date. It's not going to be easy but it's not impossible if you can get a foot on the ladder

lobanks likes this.
  3. lobanks

lobanks Member

Thanks for your helpful response.

Sorry for the lack of background info! In short, I'm studying to get in to university ('18) so no degree yet, but have my sights set on either applying for either actuarial science or maths with statistics. I'm a mature student and would much prefer to work, so if there's an alternative route (even if it takes longer) that involves on the job training then I'd prefer that option.