anyone sit CT1 in Sep 2012

Discussion in 'CT1' started by econkong, Apr 3, 2012.

1. econkong

econkong Member

Hi all,

I am a new student to the profession and will be sitting CT1 in Sep, anyone here also going to register it? :)

2. bystander

bystander Member

Tou'll be lonely for a while. The April sitting is in a couple of weeks and this is typically a first exam. Not many new starters in the profession just now but typically a flux around autumn with graduate intake.

3. econkong

econkong Member

Hi bystander, thank you for the information :)

4. KrisZ

KrisZ Member

Hi Econkong

I am new here as well. I will also be registering for September 2012. Why were you asking?

5. econkong

econkong Member

Hi KrisZ, I was curious because at the time I posted most ppl were preparing for the Apr exam:)

6. mc017

mc017 Member

Hello,

I'm also going to be registering and taking CT1 in Sept 2012! Just deciding whether to take CT3 with it or CT7.

7. KrisZ

KrisZ Member

I have read before that CT1 assumes previous knowledge of some parts of CT3 and advice was given to study both simultaneously. So, I'd say go for CT3.
    However, I cannot understand how CT3 can be a prerequisite for CT1...:confused: but I do know people who did CT3 before CT1.

Mc017, will you have time to prepare for both? Are you a trainee actuary doing the exams through the company while working?

Last edited by a moderator: Jun 7, 2012
  8. kartik_newpro

kartik_newpro Member

A few last chapters of CT1 use concepts from CT3. CT3 is not a prerequisite. You can study both simultaneously. Even I am doing CT1 but will be sitting in November, Indian exams. Appeared 2 and 3 in the last sitting.

I havent reached that far in CT1 but, I think some basic statistics understanding will do for CT1. Just an opinion

9. bosium

bosium Member

frightened actuarial fresher