Another mid life career change thread

Discussion in 'Careers' started by colinth1, Feb 22, 2008.

1. colinth1

colinth1 Member

Hi, I currently worl for one of the big 4 UK banks on the investment advice / sales side of the business dealing with pensions, portfolio management, life assurance etc. I'm a bit sick of sales and enjoy the analysis / technical side of the role much more, but it's only about 20% of the job. I earn pretty good money, but I going to bed and waking up thinking about how much I dislike my job which isn't healthy. I'm torn between pursuing an actuarial career or a more specific analysts role.

From what research I've done so far (and from exams I've already taken), the analyst exams are easier, but securing a position is more difficult in the North West. The actuarial exams seem to be more difficult, but there are more opportunities.

My degree is in Business Studies, (a levels economics, chemistry, no maths) and as I'm 37 almost seems irrelevant to me now as it was sooooo long ago, so if I go down the actuarial route I'd want to sit a level maths or something similar to give me a grounding / refresher. This means I'd be 38 before I even start the actuarial exams, maybe 39 before I've got 2 - 3 under my belt.

I'd be grateful for any honest advce as to whether I'd have any hope for securing a position, I've called a couple of agencies but they've just tried to talk me into taking a similar role to what I have now.

Thanks

2. asdf123

asdf123 Member

If you really want to do it, then why not give it a try? Though it might be tricky to get a trainee job at your age as most companies recruit graduates, you have to convince them that you really want to be an actuary.