1. Posts in the subject areas are now being moderated. Please do not post any details about your exam for at least 3 working days. You may not see your post appear for a day or two. See the 'Forum help' thread entitled 'Using forums during exam period' for further information. Wishing you the best of luck with your exams.
    Dismiss Notice

Am I bound to working for a company after they put me through my actuarial exams?

Discussion in 'Careers' started by M Willis, Apr 25, 2018.

1. M Willis

M Willis Active Member

I am currently in my last year of university and am looking to find a career as an actuary. On average, starting salaries for actuarial graduate schemes are £27,000 to £30,000.

I am currently looking at a potential opportunity with a well-established firm, who would put me through the necessary examinations to become a chartered actuary. However, this role only pays £23,000. Furthermore, a quick look on glass door returned a long list of critical reviews for this firm, which mostly outlined 'poor salaries and bad career progression'.

Would it be a good idea to take this opportunity, stick with it until I am a qualified actuary, and then leave for a firm who would offer a better salary and more opportunities to progress? Or would I be forced to work for this firm after I had taken my actuarial examinations?

2. Uroš

Uroš Member

It depends on the contractual agreement. For example, my employer pays my exam fees but expects that I stay at the company for a few years after the qualification. However, once you pass the exams, a new hypothetical employer would probably have no problems of paying the exam fees that could be due to your hypothetical past employer. As long as they consider you a good prospect for their team. Once qualiifed, even your salary at the current employer could be substantially higher.

3. bystander

bystander Member