Advice needed - Want to move from pensions to GI

Discussion in 'Careers' started by foi1983, Jan 29, 2009.

1. foi1983

foi1983 Member

Hello,

I have been a pensions student for nearly 3 years and want to move into GI. How can I can increase my chances of moving? Are there any particular websites/magazines that I can read regularly to keep me informed of issues in the GI sector?

Has anyone recently moved from pensions to GI with a similar level of experience to me? How long did it take to move? How much was the salary drop?

I am really desperate and need to move as I have nearly finished the CTs and have already passed CA1 and ST4.

Thanks in advance!

2. Hi Foi.

There have been quite a few posts around this topic before. Here is a good place to start with them.

Things to read:
    *A lot of people in the london market seem to read Insurance Day - http://www.idnewscentre.com - I'm not sure how much if it is subscription only.
    *The Institute also has regular some updates - http://www.actuaries.org.uk/practice_areas/general_insurance/gi_newsletters - the current issues newsletter is probably the best way to keep uptodate without too much effort.
    *GIRO is the UK GI conference - it might worth reading some of the past GIRO papers. The GRIP (pricing) and GRIT (reserving) reports are both really good. You could also try to read up on ICAs/Solvency II as that's very topical at the moment.

IMO having some knowledge of current issues etc. in GI would help but I'd recommend focusing on highlighting and developing your transferable skills (office, vba, presentation, communication etc.)

I moved about 3 years ago with about 2 1/2 years pensions. It was hard but not impossible - I don't know how much has changed since then. In my experience (both for me and others I knew who moved at the same time) there wasn't a pay drop - the opposite in fact.

3. foi1983

foi1983 Member

Thanks alot.

I better brush up on my VBA skills. Will keep you posted.

4. geoff97531