Advice for nontypical graduate

Discussion in 'Careers' started by ains24, Dec 15, 2014.

1. ains24

ains24 Member

Hi all,

Just thought I'd try my luck and see if I could pick up some advice concerning the options available to me as a nontypical graduate. Would really appreciate any input anyone can offer, so thanks in advance!

About me: I graduated with a first class degree in Philosophy a couple of years ago, initially wanting to pursue academia before deciding it wasn't for me. Instead, wanting to study something more numerate, I took A level maths independently and have this year begun studying for a graduate diploma in Economics at a Russell Group uni, initially with the intention to go on to the Msc and further. Recently, however, I've become very interested in training as actuary and I'm now wondering about what the best way to approach it might be.

What I'm really wondering is whether my diploma will be sufficiently numerate for any kind of graduate program. It's a mixture of second and third year courses with a decent amount of stats and econometrics, but obviously I'm way behind the typical graduate applicant when it comes to mathematical knowledge. I've made some applications already, but if I'm unsuccessful I was thinking about what the logical next step might be.

I'm considering taking CT1 next September after finishing the course, which should give me roughly 3 months or less to prepare. If I manage to pass, I'm hoping this would really improve my chances of getting my application considered for a graduate position? I figured I could perhaps even try for some further exams during the following year if it went well.

I also toyed with the idea of applying for an actuarial science grad dip, but even if I could get on to the course I'm not sure it would be wise? I mean, it's a huge investment and if I had a chance of getting a position without doing so it wouldn't make much sense financially.