Actuarial Career vs Investment Banking

Discussion in 'Careers' started by actuaryboy, Mar 11, 2011.

1. actuaryboy

actuaryboy Member

Hi all,

I am in my final year of uni, studying a course orientated towards actuarial work...have done an internship for an actuary team, but found it rather dull ...

Was wondering what your views are on the investment banking industry? Particularly on the markets side...i.e. trading / sales, etc.

Not only does it appear that they earn a great deal more money than actuaries, it seems far more interesting and exciting, and certainly use more maths on the job ! (if you're in derivatves at least).

I haven't turned my back on actuarial work, but just wanted some views from people here on investment banking careers, particularly those within the trading / sales side of it. Same for hedge funds.

Thx vm :D

2. Cardano

Cardano Member

Investment banking is largely a mixture of Ponzi schemes and control frauds,. I have nothing against crime as a career, I considered it myself as originally I trained as a synthetic chemist and so I got a lot of offers to make illicit drugs. The first thing to consider when entering a criminal career is to decide can you do the time if you get a prison sentence. The second is to ask even if you get away with it, will it come back to haunt you at a later stage.

Actuaries on the other hand are unlikely to go to prison!! :)

3. actuaryboy

actuaryboy Member

Evening Cardano, thanks for the reply

If possible, can you kindly elaborate ? :confused:

How exactly is being a trader for an Investment Bank, a "criminal career", and comparable to making *illegal* drugs?

A trader, for instance, will (a) market make for clients on markets such as equities, interest rates, and commodities, and (b) take speculative positions on the markets.

You can of course question the morality of such a thing (but then actuaries are surely in it for their self-interest too :D ) but what exactly is *criminal* about it?