Unemployed student exam progression

Discussion in 'General study / exams' started by Harashima Senju, Feb 22, 2019.

1. Harashima Senju

Harashima Senju Ton up Member

I was wondering if I should continue with exams. I have already completed all the written CTs and would like to get advice if it is wise to write the CP2 while unemployed.

PS

I reside in Zimbabwe the country with arguably the highest unemployment rate in the world of around 90%
    I have a BSc in maths and economics, an Msc in Maths and wrote all the CTs from scratch with the IFOA

2. Infinity

Infinity Member

No you shouldn’t waste your time. I appreciate I have a job but I wish I had done something else. It pains me to come to the office every morning to deal with “actuarial” issues which no one even cares about. The IFoA is repositioning the associate level so there is absolutely no point to get the fellowship and for those that have got fellowship, they’ve wasted their time. You could complete the CPs to try to get the associateship but who knows what will change in the next coming days with the exam system... there is no point studying if you don’t have support from your employer. If you have done the CTs and don’t have a job, you’re still going to struggle once you’ve got the rest of the exams. Recruiting a fellow with no experience defeats the point of a professional qualification. Cut your losses before it is too late. Judgment day is coming...

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 22, 2019
  3. Harashima Senju

Might as well quit. All that time wasted on a career that isn't lucrative as what the IFOA suggested. Judgment day?o_O

4. Infinity

Infinity Member

Sorry for mocking you. But this is the advice I’ve been given by the IFoA trolls on here. I’m in the same situation. Studying for 15 years and having to stop exams due to the new curriculum requirements meaning I have 6 exams instead of 3. Give up they tell me. Can’t say more about judgment day except that it is fast approaching.