1. Posts in the subject areas are now being moderated. Please do not post any details about your exam for at least 3 working days. You may not see your post appear for a day or two. See the 'Forum help' thread entitled 'Using forums during exam period' for further information. Wishing you the best of luck with your exams.
    Dismiss Notice

ST3 September 2005 exam

Discussion in 'SP7' started by Ian Senator, Sep 23, 2005.

1. Ian Senator

Ian Senator ActEd Tutor Staff Member

What did you think of this exam? Do you think there was there anything "unusual" in it, or was it pretty straightforward?

2. Deniese

Deniese Member

ST3 examination

I was quite frightened by this paper because I found it to be a rather striaghtforward paper compared to past papers for this subject.....which either means that I misunderstood what was being asked (and therefore failed miserably) or I studied very well for this session.

The only bit that I was abit sceptical about was the number of points you needed to come out with for that "moral hazard question" for 14 marks, but on the whole I found it to be a good paper and it would be a shame to fail such an exam, as ST3 exams generally don't get set like that!

3. mark

mark Member

I agree... I thought it unusual that nothing was that obscure, unusual to be hit with a 25 marker on each of premium rating and reserving and no tricky question on accounting, reinsurance, etc. I dont know if thats good or bad.

Will be interesting to see how the examiner report deals with 18 marks on reserving methods - seems like too low a number of marks to go through the pros and cons of every method for every reserve, but too high to just detail the issues and one suitable method for each reserve. (I tried somewhere between the two but probably ended up too general and weak on the specifics of the question).