Career Advice

Discussion in 'Careers' started by Danilo, Jan 23, 2012.

1. Danilo

Danilo Member

Hello everybody,

I'm looking for some advice on what route to take to start my career.

I graduated this year from Nottingham Trent University, and only managed to achieve a 2:2 in Mathematics. In October, I started doing a PGDip at The University of Leicester in Actuarial Science, which is a distance learning course. Upon completion of the course I earn exemption from CT1-8, but the course is two years long. Obviously I understand that entry requirements on almost all graduate training schemes as an actuary demand a 2:1, so I wondered if anybody could recommend any other positions that I could apply for which may be more realistic in my current position.

My intention is to find a job whilst doing my PGDip, which will act as suitable experience and help me to get into the profession once my course is finished.

Any help would be greatly appreciated,
    Kind regards,
    Danilo

2. DevonMatthews

DevonMatthews Member

I'd probably recommend spending all your available time studying for the moment, get some exemptions and re-assess in a years’ time (Hopefully with the maximum # of exemptions you can get in 1 year). What’s the point of getting some job that isn't what you want that doesn't have study support? It just diminishes your chance of improving your academic credentials which is what you need most at this stage.. (This is of Couse on the premise that you have applied for many jobs and can't get any of them at this stage).

3. bystander

bystander Member

Firstly, a 2.2 is not a barrier to enter the profession although many companies will look for higher.

What caused the 2.2 - anything for example health related can be a helpful mitigation. You may still get an interview but a question that may arise is were you expecting better...what could you have done to get better...what have you learned from the result.