Advice on retakes

Discussion in 'General study / exams' started by deepakraomore, Jul 25, 2016.

1. deepakraomore

deepakraomore Member

Am working in life insurance ( non actuarial).
    I spent almost 10 hours including 2 hours of driving a day for my job. Also have family responsibility.
    Am living in a vicinity ( small village ) where people are not even aware about actuary. I don't have any colleague who is studying actuarial. For exam I am traveling 300 KM from my place. That is nearest center for me.
    Any how I am managing times to study consistently. What I am having with me is CMP, past exam papers and acted forums. Whatever I am studying is independently and even if am not able to understand the concept, I have to understand.
    I am making my notes and ensuring nothing left behind from CMP.
    Recently I answered CT4 exam.I wrote about 82/100, and scored 54/100. These are my own marks ( since I have not availed any tuitions or extra material)
    I was confident to pass but something went wrong.
    What? ..I don't know. May be handwriting, notations or some silly mistakes. Till the result date I completed
    11/14 chapters of CT5.
    Please advice me on the tips and techniques for the answering exam and what to do?how to do? What extra required? How to avoid mistakes?
    And do I go for only CT4? Or 4 and 5?
    Thanks in advance

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 25, 2016
  2. bystander

bystander Member

What result did you get in the exam? If you sat with the IFoA at the last sitting, you should have got a grade and also exactly what you scored and the pass mark is quoted too. That will help you assess how close you really were. What do you mean by wrote 82/100 - did you not finish the paper? If not then one trick is that if you get stuck on one question move on and start another because the first few marks of each question should be easy and quick to get. Plus if you are borderline, it gives confidence you know the whole course.