Chi-Square Test - Determining test statistic

Discussion in 'CP2' started by David, Sep 2, 2023.

1. David

David Keen member

Hi,

I am currently looking at CP2 Paper 1 April 2022 and have carried out the check on the data to determine if it is safe to say the data provided is indeed from the N(0,1) distribution.
    My question is about how we determine the theoretical test statistic that we should compare with our observed test statistic.

Keeping in line with this exam, lets assume that we wish to carry out the test at a 85% confidence level i.e. 15% significance level (not sure why the exam seems to do this when usually we use a 95% confidence level i.e 5% significance level). Also, that the degrees of freedom is 15.

Also, lets assume that my observed test statistic is S and that the theoretical test statistic I wish to compare it to is denoted T.

It's been a while since I studied the material about goodness of fit tests, but my understanding was that, given the assumptions above, I would calculate T like this:

T = CHISQ.INV.RT(15%, 15)

and then if S < T we would say that there is no evidence to reject the null hypothesis. Below is the picture I have in my head when I do this (in a situation where we would NOT reject the null hypothesis that the data is N(0,1))

https://app.gemoo.com/share/image-a...codeId=vz228mRzJdRz0&origin=imageurlgenerator

However, the solutions use the following formula:

T = CHIINV(85%, 15)

I am aware that the CHIINV and the CHISQ.INV.RT functions produce the same results, I'm just confused on why they seem to use the right tail probability as 85% whereas I would've though they would use the right tail probability being 15% (for an 85% confidence level).