1. Posts in the subject areas are now being moderated. Please do not post any details about your exam for at least 3 working days. You may not see your post appear for a day or two. See the 'Forum help' thread entitled 'Using forums during exam period' for further information. Wishing you the best of luck with your exams.
    Dismiss Notice

Study Method

Discussion in 'CS2' started by Bernadette Pieterse, Jan 4, 2022.

1. Bernadette Pieterse

Bernadette Pieterse Active Member

Hi All,

I started studying for the CS2 exam and I'm feeling totally overwhelmed by all the information.
    Any tips on how to approach this exam?

2. Bill SD

Bill SD Very Active Member

I haven't passed it myself yet so welcome exam advice from the experts :)

But to help you cope with amount of study, suggest:
    1) Remember its an 'open book' exam so no need to commit all the information to memory; rather need to understand it and master the techniques.
    2) With any large task, it's best to split into bitesize manageable chunks. Simply focus on mastering each chapter in turn(first in the course notes and then R (through PBOR)) and see how long each one takes. Then after a few chapters, ensure you have allocated yourself enough time to complete all 21 chapters between now and mid-March, leaving a few weeks in April for dedicated past paper practice. The Acted Course notes also include a Study Guide at the beginning with helpful advice.
    3)If you don't think you have enough allocated study time, suggest to speak now to your family/friends/employer to explore how to obtain additional study time between now and April.

Best of luck. (and again -i'm no expert but hopefully will start you off)

3. Julie Lewis

Julie Lewis ActEd Tutor

I think that's good advice from Bill. Lots of people find CS2 to be a tricky subject and the pass rate is low (around 35%).