1. Posts in the subject areas are now being moderated. Please do not post any details about your exam for at least 3 working days. You may not see your post appear for a day or two. See the 'Forum help' thread entitled 'Using forums during exam period' for further information. Wishing you the best of luck with your exams.
    Dismiss Notice

Why use different methods to calculate reserve in Life and Non-life insurance ?

Discussion in 'General study / exams' started by Duc Thinh Vu, Sep 29, 2021.

1. Duc Thinh Vu

Duc Thinh Vu Active Member

Hi everyone,

The context of this question: As in reserving in Life insurance, we use the technique of discounting the future cashflows (include future premium and future claims/ charges). In reserving in Non-life insurance, I often see that they use the method such as Chain Ladder to calculate the reserve and I don't see the concept like "discounting future cashflows" or taking into account future premium.

So as a student, I would like to know why do we use different methods to calculate reserve in Life and Non-life insurance ? Or in other words, in calculating the reserve in life insurance, can we use the Chain Ladder method, or, say, to calculate reserve in non-life insurance, we use the formula: Reserve = PV(Future claims) - PV(Future Premiums) ?

Thank you very much for your help!

2. Ian Senator

Ian Senator ActEd Tutor Staff Member

Hi Duc

Essentially, the methods are in fact the same. It's just that the components of that calculation are different because of the differences between life and general. To keep it simple, consider just one existing motor insurance policy, and one existing simple life insurance policy.

For the motor policy, there are no future premiums. And for the claims, there can be multiple claims, adjusting (developing) in size over time too. You can indeed discount the payments very easily based on their timing. See Subject SP7.