Just not motivated

Discussion in 'General study / exams' started by SubaruImprezaWRX, Dec 18, 2007.

1. Hi all,

I work in insurance and am trying to better myself by doing the exams off my own back with no study leave nor financial help.

I got an FA in CT1 last time. This time I will re-take CT1 and intend to take CT2.

The problem I have is that I am truly bored with CT2. My degree was in Physics, and I have to confess to never being *that* interested in finance. I.e. I never read The Economist nor FT.

When I sit down to study CT2, I read a section about, say, construction of a balance sheet, tax liabilities for partnerships or company subsidiary accounting etc, and I literally struggle to read a paragraph. I fail to see how I could memorise this stuff, as I only tend to memorise if I truly understand the concepts.

I have only ever glanced at a real-life balance sheet and have no desire to indulge in one.

I like applied maths (but not stats), and found CT1 seriously interesting, especially the stuff about immunisation. And I love the annuity formulae.

But studying for CT2 is like eating cardboard as far as I'm concerned. Just looking at the pension/life stuff in CT6(?) feels me with dread, yet the stuff in CT8(?) Black Scholes does look interesting.

Such is my disinterest in pensions that I can't even been bothered to look at my own pension documents!

To be honest I am only really doing these exams to try to engage my brain in some maths, gain more respect from actuarial colleagues, progress my career and maybe earn more money.

Has anyone had a similar experience please? Any advice will be much appreciated, especially with regards to a worthwhile course I might otherwise study, as I'm sensing all the wrong vibes already!!

thanks

2. 4EverStudent

4EverStudent Member

There is no more maths after the CTs and so it will only get worse.